iDon’tWantToWaitInLine

I know my write-up a couple times ago was whining about waiting in line for the Taylor Swift. But I encountered a similar event this past weekend, except this time it was voluntary.

It’s pretty amazing how far we’ve come with technology: cars with backup cameras, being able to control our lights in our homes with our phones, etc. But there’s something about amusement parks that just doesn’t seem to be keeping up with par. I guess it’s the novelty of an American visit to the park. There are potato patch french fries, funnel cakes, cotton candy, games that I’m pretty sure no one wins except you always see people walking past with giant stuffed crayons (which I’m convinced they bring on their own) and lots and lots of rides. Unfortunately, the worst part of these rides is the often hour-long wait for a thirty second thrill.

Walking through Kennywood Park, a nice-sized amusement park in the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area, I did notice some things that seem to be keeping pace with technology, such as the ability to text a code to a number to learn more about a ride. But I refused to do this, thinking that this was an easy way for Kennywood to literally “get my number” and continue to send me annoying texts about specials and events. I seem to be grumbling a lot, but sometimes they try too hard to get customers. I guess it’s probably worthwhile for companies to advertise like that. A lot of people are new to text advertisement and it is a quick and easy way to reach many.

I see the potential for locations like Kennywood that attracts thousands of guests per year and covers acres of land to utilize technology to better serve its guests. Would there be ways to implement “text to ride”, a system that notifies you of when to visit a certain ride to not have to wait in line, or a number to text to find out how long the wait will be for a certain ride? I know that Kennywood is a place that can benefit from nostalgia and people may not like if it were to implement too many technological advancements, such as television screens around the park with fun facts or advice.

Amusement parks are just one of the few areas that could benefit from technology and social media. Cedar Point is one of the largest amusement parks in the world, located in Sandusky, Ohio. They have done a lot to enhance their online presence, with an interactive website to a handy mobile website. Kennywood could benefit from some of Cedar Point’s views on interactivity while still keeping that same nostalgic feel. I’m interested to see where the park goes in the next few years.

Awesome iPhone photos courtesy of David Burke

Comments
2 Responses to “iDon’tWantToWaitInLine”
  1. Pat says:

    Ah, Kennywood. I grew up in a suburb of Pittsburgh and visited Kennywood more times than I can ever count.I still haven’t learned that I can’t eat fries from the Potato Patch with gobs and gobs of cheese and then go on the Thunderbolt without feeling some “ill” effects.

    Have you seen Kennywood’s website? While a little busy, it’s not too bad. http://www.kennywood.com/index.php

    And, the park has its own YouTube channel, http://www.youtube.com/user/KennywoodOfficial?feature=mhum#p/a/f/1/gE2g0xux7Ac, which includes a video of a ride on the racer, which brings back some pretty awesome memories.

    I’ll be visiting Disney next month. While my goal for the week I’m in Orlando is not to think about work or school, I now will be paying attention to the various technologies that the park is using with you in mind.

    Cool post.

    • dcaryll says:

      Thanks Pat! I agree, Kennywood has done a nice job with their online setting. It seems like most places in Pittsburgh (excluding http://www.pitt.edu) understand the importance of websites and their ability to increase business. Kennywood’s site is a little busy, but it does have a lot of information. I’d like to see that same amount of interactivity in the park. While waiting for the Phantom’s Revenge, they played a video that looked like it was from the 80’s about the ride and it being built. While that was a cool thing to watch, keeping it updated and on more screens could really help ease the tension about waiting in line.

      For some reason, I’m really impressed with Cedar Point’s web presence. They seem to be doing all of the right things and I imagine it is paying off. It must be since they build a new few million dollar ride each year!

      Thanks for your response.

Leave a comment